On Top (Shop) at Jonathan + Olivia

Top Shop @ Jonathan + Olivia

Yes ladies, it has finally happened. Top Shop is here. We can all thank Jackie O’Brien for finally bringing Top Shop to Canada, and Toronto more specifically [insert applause here]. O’Brien is the owner and super buyer of the ever-stylish Jonathan + Olivia boutique.

Jonathan + Olivia is tenderly named after O’Brien’s nephew and niece and has become a one-stop stomping grounds for Toronto’s fashionably inclined. O’Brien carries coveted lines like Alexander Wang (a personal favourite of O’Brien) Isabel Marant, Acne, A.P.C, Whyred, local designer Rita Liefhebber and of course her husband’s line, Surface to Air, among many others.

Now as most of you fashion folk know, none of the above mentioned lines are, shall we say “light on your wallet.” So the addition of Top Shop to J+O was very much a concious effort on O’Brien’s end to bring in stock that was more accessible.

“I think firstly I thought Top Shop was  good addition because I love the brand, and I love what Top Shop has to offer for everybody in fashion” says O’Brien “But at the same time, I also think it will bring a new group of people into Jonathan + Olivia.”

Top Shop @ Jonathan + Olivia

“This dress,” says O’Brien Pointing to the cute little leopard print number, “is pretty much an Isabel Marant collection, without being Isabel Marant collection price.”

O’Brien stepped out of her proverbial box when doing her buys for Top Shop. Normally she would only buy items she would want to wear for J+O, and that’s how she buys her men’s wear as well. She buys what she wants to see men wearing, but this time she bought with more of an “open eye.”

“I haven’t been a teenager for quite some time,” she says, which you would never know from looking at the spritely and petite O’Brien. “I put my teenager head on and thought what would I want to be wearing and that’s kind of where I went with the little heart cropped shorts and the little cropped tops. And then I shopped for like hot little 20-year-olds, and I don’t even know if I ever was a hot little 20-year-old! And then I bought for me.”

Top Shop @ Jonathan + Olivia

O’Brien has a Top Shop section that is mostly grey and black and that is ‘her’ section. She points to a big loose off-white top with a black floral print that she adores and explains it as very “ Diana Orving inspired.”

Jonathan + Olivia owner Jackie O'Brien in 'her' section of Top Shop apparel

And if you are wondering where all the Top Shop accessories are and if she will be bringing in men’s wear, O’Brien says “We have to walk before we can run. We have to see how everything goes and then we’ll see. I know clothes and I know shoes, so I started with that.”

But lovely ones, fear not, if you don’t get to J+O to get this round for Top Shop deals, don’t worry, shipments will be coming in every week  for the next little while and then bi-weekly there after.  Lady Jackie O sure does know how to keep us girls smiling.

One response to “On Top (Shop) at Jonathan + Olivia

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention On Top (Shop) at Jonathan + Olivia « OfTheNow's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

